Asparagus Beds

Watchman
Foreman

Asparagus Beds

Post by Watchman »

I want to establish an asparagus bed and I've never tried it before. Please let me pick your brains. Tell me everything there is to know about: varieties, location, drainage, watering, sun/shade, etc.
“Two is one, one is none”
bee_pipes

Post by bee_pipes »

Well, I can’t remember the variety we planted – but I went with the instructions included with the asparagus and the article in Rhodale’s Encyclopedia of Organic Gardening (the old one – 1400 pages, not the newer editions – you can find it used online). You can get asparagus in two ways – seed and root crowns. The root crowns are year old seedlings, inexpensive – I recommend that. We calculated the length of beds we’d need, based on the number of root crowns, and came up with two trenches – can’t remember how long – 25 foot, I think.

We ran the rototiller repeatedly over two areas to make trenches. The dirt here is chert – flinty rock held together by gravel and clay – it can be like a mining operation to dig around here. After each pass of the tiller, we dug the loose dirt out and ran it through a sieve. You don’t need to do this – we just found it faster than picking all the rocks out. Then we’d run the tiller on another pass and repeat the process. We got the trench about a foot and a half deep, placed the crowns, and lightly covered with dirt and composted manure. Each spring we pile on compost. Last year was our first harvest (3rd year). The spears are so sweet it’s hard not to munch on them while picking.